Friday January 19, 2018
Home India Sixth Tata li...

Sixth Tata literature fest to begin from October 29

0
//
73
Republish
Reprint

Mumbai: The sixth edition of the ‘Tata Literature Live! The Mumbai LitFest’ will be held in the city from October 29 – November 1, with 120 celebrated authors and thinkers from over 14 countries participating.

The festival will be held simultaneously at the National Centre for the Performing Arts, Nariman Point and Prithvi Theatre, Juhu.

Some of the speakers include Egyptian-American Mona Eltahawy, who is making headlines for her book “Headscarves and Hymens”, Germaine Greer, one of the pioneers of the international feminist movement, Kiran Nagarkar, Indian novelist, Vikram Seth and Hussain Zaidi, investigative journalist and author of Dongri to Dubai.

Seven awards would also be presented during the fest, organised by the Tata Group, to celebrate remarkable works in fiction, non-fiction, business writing, poetry, a lifetime achievement award along with a book of the year award for fiction and non-fiction.

“We’re thrilled to announce a fantastic line-up for this edition. Indian writers will be sharing the stage with authors from over 14 countries. This year’s edition also brings a riveting line-up of international performances from across the globe,” said director and founder of the festival Anil Dharker in a statement.

As a part of the four-day fest, audience can expect discussions, debates and talks with actor and activist Lisa Ray, Kalki Koechlin, author Stephen Kelman, Congress leader Jairam Ramesh on discussions like “What is authentically India?” among others.

There would also be performances of dance and poetry, plays like the “Comedy of Horrors”, directed by Vivaan Shah, son of popular stage and film actor Naseeruddin Shah, among others.

(IANS)

Click here for reuse options!
Copyright 2015 NewsGram

Next Story

Indian Origin Author Vikram Seth’s “A Suitable Boy” adaptation to have non-white cast

0
//
57
Author Vikram Seth, Twitter

London, May 5, 2017: Indian-origin author Vikram Seth’s “A Suitable Boy” is being adapted as the first-period drama for BBC One. The series will have a complete non-white cast.

Published in 1993, the period coming-of-age story of “A Suitable Boy” begins in 1951 and is set in India. The eight-part series will be shot on location in India and feature the BBC’s first entirely non-white cast, reports deadline.com.

NewsGram brings to you current foreign news from all over the world.

Andrew Davies, the screenwriter whose hits include the famous 1995 version of “Pride and Prejudice” starring Colin Firth and last year’s adaptation of “War and Peace”, will be writing the series.

“Lata’s trials of the heart speak as loudly to me now as when I first read Vikram’s epic novel two decades ago. She is a great literary heroine in the tradition of Jane Austen and George Eliot.

Check out NewsGram for latest international news updates.

“But behind her stands a massive supporting cast of striking, funny, irrepressible characters and a vision of India in the 1950s that no reader can ever forget. It will make a wonderful series and I can’t wait to bring the magic of the book to life on screen,” Davies said.

Filming is set to begin later this year and it is expected to occupy the Sunday night slot reserved for popular costume dramas such as “Poldark”.

“A Suitable Boy” is a Lookout Point production for BBC One. (IANS)

Next Story