Thursday June 21, 2018
Home Uncategorized Union governm...

Union government approves setting up of 13 greenfield airports


New Delhi: The central government on Wednesday announced that it has granted ‘in-principle’ approval for setting up 13 greenfield airports across the country.

Minister of State for Civil Aviation Mahesh Sharma, said in a written reply to a question in the Rajya Sabha that the government has granted ‘in-principle’ approval to 13 projects.

The government has granted ‘in-principle’ approval to 13 projects: Mopa in Goa, Navi Mumbai, Sindhudurg and Shirdi in Maharashtra, Bijapur, Gulbarga, Hassan and Shimoga in Karnataka, Kannur in Kerala, Debra in Gwalior, Pakyong in Sikkim, Kushinagar in Uttar Pradesh and Karaikal in Pucherry,

While talking about the establishment of a greenfield airport near Bhiwadi in Alwar district of Rajasthan, Sharma said: “Government has granted site clearance to Delhi-Mumbai Industrial Corridor (DMIC) for setting up of a greenfield airport near Bhiwadi.

The Minister further informed the upper house of parliament that a view on setting up a greenfield airport at Jewar in Uttar Pradesh will be taken after receiving a completely updated proposal from the state government.

Government of Uttar Pradesh is responsible for further progress in the project as the necessary action for approval from various departments, project development, including financing of the airport project has to be obtained by the respective airport promoter,

However, the minister added that ‘in-principle’ approval has been granted to the Uttar Pradesh government for setting up a greenfield airport at Kushinagar.

(Inputs from IANS)

Click here for reuse options!
Copyright 2015 NewsGram

Next Story

Northeast airports lack night landing facilities: Minister


New Delhi: Four major airports in the northeastern states of Assam, Mizoram and Meghalaya do not have night landing facilities, Minister of State for Civil Aviation Mahesh Sharma said on Monday. 

download“Presently, the airports at Shillong (Meghalaya), Lengpui (Mizoram), Jorhat and Tezpur (both in Assam) in the northeastern region are not equipped with night landing facilities,” Sharma stated in a written reply to a question in the Lok Sabha.

He said that while Shillong airport belonged to the Airports Authority of India (AAI), Lengpui airport belonged to the Mizoram government and the Tezpur and Jorhat airports were owned by the Indian Air Force (IAF).

“Upgrade of airports, including provision of night landing facilities is a continuous process, which is undertaken by the Airports Authority of India depending on the operational requirements at the concerned airport, demand from airlines, technical feasibility, availability of land free from all encumbrances etc.,” he said.

According to the minister, though the Kumbirgram airport at Silchar in southern Assam is equipped with night landing facilities, it belongs to the IAF and permission for night landing flights for civil operations at this airport rests with the IAF.

Sharma said that domestic air services have been deregulated by the government and airlines were free to operate anywhere in the country, subject to compliance of route dispersal guidelines (RDGs) issued by the government.

“The government has laid down RDGs with a view to achieve better regulation of air transport services taking into account the need for remote and regional areas of the country. However, it is up to the airlines to provide air services to specific places, depending upon the traffic demand and commercial viability,” he stated.