Home Politics Oath taking o...

Oath taking of Bihar legislative assembly members begins


Patna: The second day of the maiden session of the 16th Bihar Legislative Assembly began on Tuesday with oath-taking by the newly elected legislators, including 98 first timers, officials said.

The assembly was adjourned on Monday, the first day of its session post elections, following the death of RLSP’s legislator Basant Kumar.

Protem Speaker Sadanand Singh started Tuesday’s session with the oath-taking by 243 newly elected legislators including 98 freshers.

Bihar Deputy Chief Minister Tejaswi Yadav, Health Minister Tej Pratap Yadav, Finance Minister Abdul Bari Siddiqui have already taken an oath.

Tejaswi and Tej Pratap the sons of Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) chief Lalu Prasad. Both are first timers.

With the death of Basant Kumar, a first timer, the number of first-time legislators has come down to 98 from 99.

Bharatiya Janata Party’s (BJP) ally Rashtriya Lok Samta Party (RLSP) now has the only member in the house.

According to officials, the first two days of the session have been earmarked for oath taking by newly elected legislators.

This will be followed by the election of a new speaker in place of Uday Narain Choudhary, who was defeated in the polls.

Governor Ramnath Kovind will address a joint sitting of the newly-constituted assembly and the council on December 3.


(Picture credit:viewpatna.blogspot.com)

Next Story

Bihar assembly adjourned till 2 p.m.

picture from- www.news18.com

Patna: Bihar assembly Speaker Uday Narayan Chaudhary on Wednesday suspended a rebel JD(U) legislator till August 7 and adjourned the house till 2 p.m. following uproar.

picture from- www.news18.com
picture from- www.news18.com

Noisy scenes erupted as Bharatiya Janata Party leader Nand Kishore Yadav and rebel Janata Dal(United) legislator Neeraj Kumar Bablu demanded a debate on the medicine scam and a CBI probe into it.

Like on Tuesday, legislators mostly from the BJP and the eight rebel JD(U) legislators disrupted the proceedings and trooped near the speaker’s chair shouting anti-government slogans.

Speaker Choudhary requested them to maintain peace but he was repeatedly ignored.

When Neeraj Kumar Bablu tried to hit his desk, the speaker announced his suspension till August 7 and adjourned the house.

The four-day monsoon session of the Bihar assembly began on Monday.

This is the last session of the current assembly before the state goes to the polls later this year.