Tuesday, January 19, 2021
Home Lead Story These Books Can Drive Boredom Away in Lockdown 4.0

These Books Can Drive Boredom Away in Lockdown 4.0

A well-curated list of books can help drive lockdown blues away.

Life in the lockdown has not been easy for most of us. Were isolated and theres no sign of things changing anytime soon.

Well books can come to your rescue and what better way to spend the last two weeks in home-sheltering than by reading. Reading is not only a great form of escapism, but it also helps to stimulate creativity and enrich language skills, making it a great idea for all ages.

Here is a list of must read books which can transport you to another time and place:

‘The Hunger Games Series-The Ballad of Songbirds and Snakes’ by Suzanne Collins (Scholastic)

A new Hunger Games book is on its way, the first since 2010; it’s not only for teens but also for all sci-fi lovers. A prequel to the “Hunger Games” series by Suzanne Collins, “A Ballad of Songbirds and Snakes” was first announced in June last year, and – as revealed in an extract published by Entertainment Weekly – ‘will focus on Coriolanus Snow.’

‘Hunted by the Sky’ by Tanaz Bhatena (Penguin Random House India)

From the author of ‘A Girl Like That’, the YA fantasy explores identity, class inequality, alongside a high-stakes romance story, ‘Hunted by the Sky’ is set in the Kingdom of Ambar – a world inspired by medieval India– a world of deadly, dark secrets and adventures.

‘A Thousand Cranes for India: Reclaiming Plurality Amid Hatred’ edited by Pallavi Aiyar (Seagull Books)

This anthology – comprising 23 pieces of reportage, stories, poems, memoir and polemic – uses the mythology, history, and symbolism of Japanese Origami paper cranes as a pathway for some of India’s best-known writers, poets and artists to pave a “shared, civic space for a conversation about the fault lines in India at a time of darkness”.

Books
These books will make lockdown brighter for you. Pixabay

‘Shameless’ by Taslima Nasreen, translated from Bengali by Arunava Sinha (HarperCollins India)

‘Shameless’, the sequel to the controversial and best-selling ‘Lajja’, had never been published in Bengali, or any other language, until very recently, when a Hindi translation was printed. This “timely, topical and outspoken novel about communal tensions in India” is, according to its author, “not a political novel – and instead about what the politics of religion does to human beings and their relationships: a ruthless, uncompromising, heartbreaking tale of ordinary people’s lives in our times”.

Also Read: Coronavirus Pandemic: A Punishment for Humans?

‘A Burning’ by Megha Majumdar (Knopf; Penguin Random House India)

“For readers of Tommy Orange, Yaa Gyasi, and Jhumpa Lahiri” (!), Majumdar’s debut, a thriller-like epic, centres around three characters who find their lives criss-crossing in the aftermath of a catastrophe. ‘Of A Burning’, Amitav Ghosh has said: it’s “the best debut novel I have come across in a long timee In telling the story of a young Muslim girl whose life is undone by a single social media post, it creates a kaleidoscope of contemporary urban India, with its internet-driven hysteria, religious fanaticism, rampant corruption, poisoned air, random violence, enraged mobs and pervasive misogyny.”(IANS)

STAY CONNECTED

19,120FansLike
362FollowersFollow
1,773FollowersFollow

Most Popular

“Audience Does Not Pay Heed To The Roles I Like Personally”, Says Nawazuddin Siddiqui

Critically acclaimed actor Nawazuddin Siddiqui says he loves playing dry characters that do not go overboard with emotions, even though the audience rarely roots...

Holocaust Rememberance Day: Remembering The Modern-Day Genocide of Kashmiri Pandits

The Holocaust Remembrance Day highlights the efforts of the national community to respond to, said the Reconciliation, Return & Rehabilitation, a body of the...

Bharat Biotech Advises People Not To Take “Covaxin” in Case of Allergies, Fever, Bleeding Disorder

Bharat Biotech, makers of India's first indigenous vaccine for Covid-19, has advised people not to take 'Covaxin' if they have allergies, fever, bleeding disorder,...

Netaji’s Birthday To Be Celebrated As Parakran Diwas From Now

The Ministry of Culture on Tuesday said that the government has decided to celebrate the birthday of Netaji Subhas Chandra Bose that falls on...

Learning To Play The Piano As An Adult With John Perry

BY JAMIE CARTWRIGHT Quarantine has given many of us the space to explore new creative outlets. If you’ve always wanted to learn a new skill...

Do Not Neglect Your Child! It May Put An Effect on His/Her Brain Functioning

Parents, please take note. Make sure your child is not neglected as childhood emotional neglect has inter-generational effects on brain structure and function, a...

The Top Five Benefits Of Hemp Induced Skin Care Products

Hemp is one of the most talked-about ingredients in the beauty industry. When it comes to skincare the many benefits of hemp or hemp...

Anuradha Goyal’s Book: ‘Lotus in the Stone: Sacred Journeys in Eternal India

For author and noted travel blogger Anuradha Goyal, who has penned the book 'Lotus in the Stone: Sacred Journeys in Eternal India' on India's...

Recent Comments