Wednesday, September 23, 2020
Home Lead Story These Books Can Drive Boredom Away in Lockdown 4.0

These Books Can Drive Boredom Away in Lockdown 4.0

A well-curated list of books can help drive lockdown blues away.

Life in the lockdown has not been easy for most of us. Were isolated and theres no sign of things changing anytime soon.

Well books can come to your rescue and what better way to spend the last two weeks in home-sheltering than by reading. Reading is not only a great form of escapism, but it also helps to stimulate creativity and enrich language skills, making it a great idea for all ages.

Here is a list of must read books which can transport you to another time and place:

‘The Hunger Games Series-The Ballad of Songbirds and Snakes’ by Suzanne Collins (Scholastic)

A new Hunger Games book is on its way, the first since 2010; it’s not only for teens but also for all sci-fi lovers. A prequel to the “Hunger Games” series by Suzanne Collins, “A Ballad of Songbirds and Snakes” was first announced in June last year, and – as revealed in an extract published by Entertainment Weekly – ‘will focus on Coriolanus Snow.’

‘Hunted by the Sky’ by Tanaz Bhatena (Penguin Random House India)

From the author of ‘A Girl Like That’, the YA fantasy explores identity, class inequality, alongside a high-stakes romance story, ‘Hunted by the Sky’ is set in the Kingdom of Ambar – a world inspired by medieval India– a world of deadly, dark secrets and adventures.

‘A Thousand Cranes for India: Reclaiming Plurality Amid Hatred’ edited by Pallavi Aiyar (Seagull Books)

This anthology – comprising 23 pieces of reportage, stories, poems, memoir and polemic – uses the mythology, history, and symbolism of Japanese Origami paper cranes as a pathway for some of India’s best-known writers, poets and artists to pave a “shared, civic space for a conversation about the fault lines in India at a time of darkness”.

Books
These books will make lockdown brighter for you. Pixabay

‘Shameless’ by Taslima Nasreen, translated from Bengali by Arunava Sinha (HarperCollins India)

‘Shameless’, the sequel to the controversial and best-selling ‘Lajja’, had never been published in Bengali, or any other language, until very recently, when a Hindi translation was printed. This “timely, topical and outspoken novel about communal tensions in India” is, according to its author, “not a political novel – and instead about what the politics of religion does to human beings and their relationships: a ruthless, uncompromising, heartbreaking tale of ordinary people’s lives in our times”.

Also Read: Coronavirus Pandemic: A Punishment for Humans?

‘A Burning’ by Megha Majumdar (Knopf; Penguin Random House India)

“For readers of Tommy Orange, Yaa Gyasi, and Jhumpa Lahiri” (!), Majumdar’s debut, a thriller-like epic, centres around three characters who find their lives criss-crossing in the aftermath of a catastrophe. ‘Of A Burning’, Amitav Ghosh has said: it’s “the best debut novel I have come across in a long timee In telling the story of a young Muslim girl whose life is undone by a single social media post, it creates a kaleidoscope of contemporary urban India, with its internet-driven hysteria, religious fanaticism, rampant corruption, poisoned air, random violence, enraged mobs and pervasive misogyny.”(IANS)

STAY CONNECTED

19,142FansLike
362FollowersFollow
1,775FollowersFollow

Most Popular

Adah Sharma on Why a Handful of Actresses Seem Interested in Martial Arts

Actress Adah Sharma is into martial arts, and often shares videos where she can be seen using the Silambam sticks to work out. Follow NewsGram...

Railway Seat Not Confirmed? Now Travel by Plane With Railofy

Railofy, a Mumbai-based start-up, has launched India's first 'Waitlist and RAC Protection' service, aimed towards tackling the problems faced by the passengers travelling by...

Falguni Shane Peacock’s Collection Throws Light on the New Age Bride

By Puja Gupta Designer duo Falguni and Shane Peacock forayed into a full-fledged bridal segment with the launch of their latest couture collection at the...

How Yad Eliezer Feeds Israel’s Hungry

According to data collected by the Organization for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) Israel suffers from an overwhelming poverty rate of 21 percent. Furthermore,...

New Microsoft Feature in Teams to Take You to Office via ‘Virtual Commute’

As the pandemic takes its toll on the well-being of workers globally, Microsoft has announced a unique feature in its video meet app Teams...

Pillars of Creation: Now You Can Listen to Centre of Milky Way

People can now 'listen' to the centre of the Milky Way as observed in X-ray, optical and infrared light, thanks to a new project...

From “Confusion” To “Clarity” Regarding Sanatan Dharma With Dr. Chandra Shekhar Mayanil

Dr. Chandra Shekhar Mayanil is a Neuroscientist who is currently living in Naperville, Illinois. He has constantly been engaging in topics related to Yog...

Top 5 Beach Activities in Asia

Blessed with some of the most beautiful beaches in the world, Asia has something for everyone. From idyllic white-sand beaches fringed by palm trees...

Recent Comments