Thursday April 18, 2019
Home Lead Story Facebook intr...

Facebook introduces ‘Keyword Snooze’ in News Feed

If you see a post with the offending keyword, you can select the option to snooze keywords from the post in the drop-down menu on the top right

0
//
Facebook
Facebook releases Messenger redesign on Android, iOS. Pixabay

Facebook on Thursday introduced a new feature called ‘Keyword Snooze’ in News Feed that will allow users to hide certain keywords that they don’t want to see for 30 days.

The feature is a variant of another option to “snooze” people and pages you do not want to see which was introduced 2017.

Located in a post’s upper right-hand menu in News Feed, the “Keyword Snooze” feature gives people the option to temporarily hide posts by keywords, which are pulled directly from text in that post.

Facebook mobile app
Facebook mobile app, Pixabay

“If you choose to ‘snooze’ a keyword, you won’t see posts in your News Feed containing that exact word or phrase from any person, Page or Group for 30 days,” Shruthi Muraleedharan, News Feed Product Manager, said in a blog post.

If you see a post with the offending keyword, you can select the option to snooze keywords from the post in the drop-down menu on the top right.

Also Read: Facebook Eases Ban on Cryptocurrency Related Ads

“Even though we work to show you the most relevant posts on News Feed, we don’t always get it right. That’s why we’ve designed features like See First, Hide, Unfollow, Snooze, and now, Keyword Snooze.

“We hope that with additional options to help tailor your News Feed experience, you’ll be able to spend more time focusing on the things that matter,” the post added. (IANS)

Next Story

Facebook ‘Unintentionally’ Uploaded Emails of Nearly 1.5 mn Users

The social network said the contacts weren’t shared with anyone and are being deleted

0
Facebook, data, vietnam
This photo shows a Facebook app icon on a smartphone in New York. VOA

In a latest privacy goof up, Facebook “unintentionally” uploaded the emails of nearly 1.5 million of its users during the past three years.

A Facebook spokesperson admitted on late Wednesday that emails of 1.5 million people were harvested since May 2016 to help build Facebook’s web of social connections and recommend other users to add as friends.

First reported by Business Insider, the revelation came to light after a security researcher noticed that “Facebook was asking some users to enter their email passwords when they signed up for new accounts to verify their identities”.

“Last month we stopped offering email password verification as an option for people verifying their account when signing up for Facebook for the first time,” the Facebook spokesperson was quoted as saying.

facebook
FILE – A 3D printed Facebook logo is seen in front of a displayed Russian flag in this photo illustration, Aug. 3, 2018. VOA

“We’ve fixed the underlying issue and are notifying people whose contacts were imported,” Facebook said.

The social network said the contacts weren’t shared with anyone and are being deleted, reports CNET.

Also Read- Here’s Why TikTok Ban May Not Give the Desired Results

“People can also review and manage the contacts they share with Facebook in their settings,” said the company.

Facebook is facing the heat over several data scandals, including the massive Cambridge Analytica scandal where personal information of up to 87 million users was leaked. (IANS)