Monday October 21, 2019
Home Lead Story Google Rolls ...

Google Rolls Out Key Feature to Allow People Auto-Delete their Location History

According to the tech giant, Location History is a Google product that is entirely opt in, and users have the controls to edit, delete or turn it off at any time

0
//
google annual event
Rumors suggest that Google may unveil a mid-range Pixel phone as a cheaper option to the flagship model currently on sale for $800. VOA

 In yet another bid to address privacy concerns, Google is rolling out a key feature that will allow people to automatically delete their Location History, Web and App Activity data.

Google last year courted controversy when an Associated Press investigation found that many Google services on Android devices and iPhones store users’ location data even if the users explicitly used privacy settings to turn it off.

In a blog post late Thursday, Google said it is introducing auto-delete controls for users’ Location History and Web and App Activity data.

google, delete location history
You can already use your Google Account to access simple on/off controls for Location History and Web and App Activity, and if you choose — to delete all or part of that data manually. Pixabay

“Choose a time limit for how long you want your activity data to be saved a” three or 18 months a” and any data older than that will be automatically deleted from your account on an ongoing basis,” announced David Monsees, Product Manager, Google Search.

These controls are coming first to Location History, Web and App Activity and will roll out in the coming weeks. “You should always be able to manage your data in a way that works best for you,” added Marlo McGriff, Product Manager, Google Maps.

The company argued that when users turn on settings like Location History or Web and App Activity, the data can make Google products more useful for them a” like recommending a restaurant or helping pick up where they left off on a previous search.

google, delete location history
“We work to keep your data private and secure, and we’ve heard your feedback that we need to provide simpler ways for you to manage or delete it,” said Google. Pixabay

“We work to keep your data private and secure, and we’ve heard your feedback that we need to provide simpler ways for you to manage or delete it,” said Google.

ALSO READ: Facebook Revamps “Privacy-Focused” Looks for Instagram, Messenger and WhatsApp

You can already use your Google Account to access simple on/off controls for Location History and Web and App Activity, and if you choose — to delete all or part of that data manually.

According to the tech giant, Location History is a Google product that is entirely opt in, and users have the controls to edit, delete or turn it off at any time. (IANS)

Next Story

Google Announces Auto-delete Controls for Location History

With the new feature in place, users can now set their tracking preferences to delete in three- or 18-month intervals

0
google
FILE - A woman walks past the logo for Google at the China International Import Expo in Shanghai, Nov. 5, 2018. VOA

To make it easier for users to manage their data, Google has announced rolling out auto-delete controls for location history and activity data for both Android and iOS devices.

“Auto-delete controls for Location History start rolling out today on Android and iOS, making it even easier for you to manage your data,” the Internet giant posted on Twitter late on Wednesday.

google, delete location history
You can already use your Google Account to access simple on/off controls for Location History and Web and App Activity, and if you choose — to delete all or part of that data manually. Pixabay

The feature comes after an emphasis on user privacy during a developer conference where firms such as Google and Apple said they would begin introducing tools to let users have more control over what data they share with the them or third-party apps.

Also Read: WhatsApp Testing a Feature That Lets You Share Stories on Instagram, Facebook

Location tracking and web and app activity history on Google remains until users manually delete them by default and the tech behemoth asserts this is to improve user experience, search personalisations and ad targeting.

With the new feature in place, users can now set their tracking preferences to delete in three- or 18-month intervals. (IANS)