Saturday, August 15, 2020
Home India Justice Tirath Singh Thakur becomes 43rd Chief Justice of India

Justice Tirath Singh Thakur becomes 43rd Chief Justice of India

New Delhi: Justice Tirath Singh Thakur was sworn in as the 43rd Chief Justice of India on Thursday. He took over from Justice HL Dattu, who retired on Wednesday. Justice Thakur is slated to be the in power for 13 months.

President Pranab Mukherjee administered the oath taking ceremony of Thakur at the Rashtrapati Bhawan in the morning in the  presence of luminaries including Former Chief Justices H L Dattu, K G Balakrishnan, SH Kapadia, Rajendra Mal Lodha.

Thakur before becoming the Chief Justice of India had various feathers in his cap.

Thakur, known for his pragmatic approach cleansed the Indian cricket after it got entangled with countless scams including the infamous IPL spot-fixing case.

The foremost challenge for him would be to appoint judges.

It was Thakur and the dynamic approach of his bench that order the setting up of the Lodha Committee to probe into the Board of Control for Cricket in India. The bench suggested various moves that would make the BCCI accountable and transparent.

Justice Thakur is known for giving a patient hearing to every case listed before his bench.

Thakur was also responsible for ordering a CBI probe into the Saradha Ponzi fiasco in West Bengal. The CBI probe, besides catching the Mamata Banerjee-led government in back foot, unearthed the role of top ministers’  in the multi-crore scam.

The oath taking ceremony was attended by cabinet ministers Rajnath Singh, Sushma Swaraj, Arun Jaitley, DV Sadananda Gowda, Harsh Vardhan, Smriti Irani, and senior BJP leader LK Advani. Also present were the leader of the Opposition in Rajya Sabha, Ghulam Nabi Azad, Congress party leader in the Lok Sabha, Mallikarjun Kharge, Delhi governor Najeeb Jung, and chief minister Arvind Kejriwal.

(With inputs from agencies)




Most Popular

Here’s How an Online Training Helped me Land my Dream Job

About the Author: Apurva Bhalerao is a postgraduate in Mechatronics. She joined Internshala Trainings for Internet of Things training. She shares how an online...

Internships for Students With Good People Skills

College students, especially the first and second year ones, often hesitate to apply to internships for the reason that they don’t have any job-specific...

73% Females in Rajasthan Facing Issues in Procuring Sanitary Napkins During Lockdown

Seven of every 10 adolescent females, nearly 73 per cent, in Rajasthan say they have had a problem procuring sanitary pads during lockdown in...

I Believe Dance is like Talking Without Speaking: Govinda

Actor Govinda sees dancing more like talking, sans words. "I believe that dance is more like talking without having to actually speak or use words....

Google Search to Provide you With Necessary Information About Floods in India

Google is already sending public alerts to people hit by flooding in India and users in India can now use Search to simply enter...

Yoga Improves Symptoms of Generalised Anxiety Disorder: Researchers

Researchers have suggested that yoga improves symptoms of generalised anxiety disorder, a condition with chronic nervousness and worry, suggesting the popular practice may be...

Young Women More Stressed Than Men During Lockdown: Survey

A recent survey on the impact of the Covid-19 pandemic on people between 10 and 24 years in UP, Bihar and Rajasthan has revealed...

Doctors Estimated 3 Folds Rise in Deaths of Patients During Lockdown Due to “Waitlist Mortality”

By Ashish Srivastava The nationwide lockdown imposed from March 24 has affected services across sectors, and key areas of medical care were also not left...

Recent Comments