Never miss a story

Get subscribed to our newsletter


Indian National Flag.

By Devakinanda



ॐ त्रिवर्णपताकभूम्यै नमः

(Ṫrivarṇa: Three colors; Paṫāka: Flag)

Our Indian national flag is tricolored, a trivarṇapaṫākam. Those three colors are saffron on the top, white in the middle, and green at the bottom. In the middle of the white band, there is the dharma chakra (wheel of righteousness). The three colors are horizontal stripes of equal length and width. The length and the width of the flag are in 3:2 ratios. Our national flag was made based on the National Congress flag designed by Sri Pingaḷi Venkayya. On July 22, 1947, our national government officially accepted the tri-colored flag as our Indian National Flag.

Follow NewsGram on LinkedIn to know what's happening around the world.

Saffron symbolizes sacrifice and renunciation. That's why, we see sādhus and swamis wear saffron or ochre clothes to represent sacrifice and renunciation, and also to remind themselves that they took an oath of renunciation. In our Hindu literature, we see the word tyāgam a lot in fables and ithihāsas like Ramāyaṇam. Having the quality of renunciation is one of the great human qualities.

Ashtottaram 58 The Indian national flag is tricolored.Pixabay

We see that quality in Lord Shri Rama, who is worshipped by every Hindu on the continent, not because he is God, but for his supreme qualities which are very hard to possess as an ordinary human being. India is blessed with many people like that who sacrificed their lives for humanity and some during the freedom movement. These great people showed utmost selflessness and sacrifice which, unfortunately, we don't see any more. Sadly, now everyone is full of selfishness and greediness, especially the politicians.


The middle color is white, which symbolizes purity, peace, and truth. Hindu scriptures give importance to thought, speech, and bodily action and preach to be pure and honest in all three aspects of an action. In the word Hindu lies the meaning- 'one who rejects untruth' (meaning- who desires the truth). Hindus are peace desiring people. That's why in our worship, we use śhāntih (peace) three times, and we end our prayers with śhāntih. We pray for peace for all beings everywhere, and not just ourselves. The wheel in the middle symbolizes dharma and progress.

The third color is green. It symbolizes a good harvest, which is our wealth. The crop, the farmer, the plow, and the sickle have great importance in Indian culture. The farmer and agriculture are the backbones of India. We have stamps honoring the farmer because, in most villages, agriculture is the main source of income and living, representing 65-75% of the GDP of our country.

Our Bhārata bhōmi, having three colors as sacred symbols in our National Flag, is 'Ṫrivarṇapaṫāka Bhūmi'.



Hollywood actor Dave Bautista is set to star in 'Knock at the Cabin

Hollywood actor Dave Bautista is set to star in 'Knock at the Cabin', the upcoming movie from Pondicherry-born Indian American Oscar-nominated filmmaker M. Night Shyamalan.

The 'Dune' actor is reportedly in negotiations to appear in Shyamalan's upcoming movie, which the secretive filmmaker will both write and direct, as well as produce with Ashwin Rajan under his Blinding Edge Pictures banner alongside Marc Bienstock and Steven Schneider, according to Deadline, reports

Follow NewsGram on Facebook to stay updated.

Details of the movie -- which is scheduled for release in February 2023 -- are being kept under wraps.

Bautista is currently going through a busy period, having starred in 'Dune' and Netflix's 'Army of the Dead' and recently finished production on 'Knives Out 2'.

He is currently working on the third 'Guardians of the Galaxy' movie, and as well as 'Knock at the Cabin', he's also expected to shoot 'Dune 2' and is attached to star in and produce an action movie with Jason Momoa.

The 52-year-old star recently admitted he "almost broke down" when he was cast in 'Dune' because he was so keen to work with director Denis Villeneuve but didn't want to "capitalise" on his friendship with the filmmaker to land his role of Glossu Rabban.

Asked what attracted him to the project, he said: "For me, it was Denis. I really pursued this, because I was tracking 'Dune'. I kept asking my agent, "When auditions would become available? When are they going to release these roles?"

Keep Reading Show less

Huh Token

BitMart just experienced one of the biggest hacks in cryptocurrency history, with losses estimated at a whopping $196 million. Withdrawals have been frozen until further notice as the company undergoes security checks, but CEO Sheldon Xia has promised to compensate affected users out of pocket. By stealing a private key opening two hot wallets, hackers achieved one of the biggest centralized exchange hacks to date by swapping stolen tokens for ether and then depositing the funds to Tornado Cash.

The hack has again raised concerns regarding crypto theft. Investors fall victim to attacks as simple as clicking on a link, giving hackers unfettered access to their wallets. So, it’s no surprise that investing in crypto is considered such a high-risk activity. There are ways to mediate risk and one of such ways is to have a bug bounty, which HUH Token, a new cryptocurrency does have. According to an analysis by Deloitte, more than 25% of all bitcoin could be stolen in one attack. This is perhaps why cyber criminals get so creative in coming up with crafty ways to take your bitcoin. Unfortunately, as crypto is decentralized, stolen crypto is extremely hard to recover. In light of the prediction that 10% of global GDP is to be held in crypto by 2025, it needs to become unassailable. To avoid becoming the next hacking victim, use these expert-based tips to maximize your wallet’s security:

Keep Reading Show less

HUH Token

XRP's price is forming a reversal pattern as bulls defend a critical support level. Meanwhile, HUH Token has rocketed over 400% on its first day of trading and looks set for further gains.


Keep reading... Show less