E-tourist visa facility to China, Hong Kong and Macau to be effected from July 30


New Delhi: The government on Wednesday said it has finalized arrangements to extend and implement e-tourist visa facility to people from China, Hong Kong and Macau with effect from July 30.

The total number of countries or territories covered under the e-tourist visa scheme will now go up from 74 to 77, an official release said on Wednesday. The scheme will be extended to more countries in a phased manner.

Under this scheme, tourists with e-tourist visas can arrive at nine designated airports — Bengaluru, Chennai, Cochin, Delhi, Goa, Hyderabad, Kolkata, Mumbai and Trivandrum.

Since the launch of the scheme, about two lakh e-tourist visas have been issued to nationals of different countries, it added.