Sunday July 22, 2018
Home Business You Might be ...

You Might be able to add Video Reviews to Google Maps Soon!

This feature available on Android devices only for now is likely to be released for the public in the near future

0
//
52
google maps
Google is testing video reviews as part of its 'Local Guides programme. (Representative image) Pixabay
Republish
Reprint

San Francisco, September 15, 2017 : Google is testing video reviews with its “Local Guides” programme that would allow users (who are part of the programme) to shoot 10-second videos right from Maps or upload 30-second video clips from their camera.

To upload video reviews to Maps, the user has to look for and select a place in Maps, scroll down and select “add a photo,” tap the “camera” icon and then hold the shutter to record or upload a short video, TechCrunch reported late on Thursday.

This feature is available on Android devices only for now.

The company introduced this feature to the “Local Guides” about two weeks ago.

Google is now notifying users about it via email and will likely release it for public in the near future,

Previously, users could attach only photographs to locations on Google Maps and there was no option to add videos. (IANS)

Click here for reuse options!
Copyright 2017 NewsGram

Next Story

Gmail: Google Alerts its Users About the New ‘Confidential Mode’

Central to these fears is the new "Confidential Email" feature that can require users to click a link in order to access these messages.

0
Gmail
The Department of Homeland Security (DHS) reportedly issued an alert on the "potential emerging threat... for nefarious activity" with the Gmail redesign, the report said. Pixabay

Gmail users have been alerted about a new Google Mail feature which could be leveraged by online crooks to carry out a wave of scams, media reported.

The company, in April, unveiled its brand new design which introduced a clean new user interface and a swathe of new features including the ability to snooze a message, auto-generate smart replies and self-destruct emails in the brand new “Confidential Mode”.

“It’s the Confidential Mode which is at the centre of security fears,” Express.co.uk reported on Saturday.

The Department of Homeland Security (DHS) reportedly issued an alert on the “potential emerging threat… for nefarious activity” with the Gmail redesign, the report said.

“We have reached out to Google to inform them of intelligence relevant to their services and to partner to improve our mutual interests in cyber security,” Lesley Fulop, DHS spokesperson said.

Central to these fears was the new “Confidential Email” feature that can require users to click a link in order to access these messages.

Gmail
If you’re a Gmail user using the official Google Mail website then the “Confidential Email” appears when you click to open it, Pixabay

If you’re a Gmail user using the official Google Mail website then the “Confidential Email” appears when you click to open it. It shows a date for when the content will expire and informs the users that the email can’t be forwarded or downloaded.

However, it’s different if you’re a Gmail user viewing the message as a third-party client or a non-Gmail user who receives a confidential email.

In those cases, instead of the message appearing in their browser, users have to click a button to view the email. And this is where the security fears lie.

With the Gmail redesign, scammers could send out fake versions of confidential email alerts and trick a user into entering sensitive details.

“The tech giant is committed to protecting the security of users’ personal information and hence, had created “machine learning” algorithms to detect potential phishing scams that cyber criminals carry out,” said Google spokesman Brooks Hocog.

Also Read-Is Gmail safe? Google is Allowing Third-party App Developers to Scan Through Your Account

Phishing scams are where cyber criminals try to trick victims into clicking on seemingly trustworthy links in order to steal sensitive personal information.(IANS)

Next Story