Tuesday January 28, 2020
Home Lead Story New WhatsApp ...

New WhatsApp Feature Lets Users Decide to Join a Group or Not: Tech Report

"My Contacts Except" provides additional control for who among their contacts can add them to a group

0
//
WhatsApp
Enabling "My Contacts" on WhatsApp will mean that only users they have in their address book can add them to groups and "My Contacts Except" provides additional control for who among their contacts can add them to a group. Pixabay

Facebook-owned WhatsApp has added a new privacy setting, which will let users decide whether they want to join a group on the messaging platform or not, according to a company announcement on Wednesday.

“WhatsApp groups continue to connect family, friends, co-workers, classmates, and more. As people turn to groups for important conversations, users have sought more control over their experience. Today, we’re introducing a new privacy setting and invite system to help you decide who can add you to groups,” the company wrote in a blog post.

To enable it, users need to go to “Settings” in the app, then tap Account, Privacy and Groups and select one of three options: “Everyone,” “My Contacts,” or “My Contacts Except.”

WhatsApp
Facebook-owned WhatsApp has added a new privacy setting, which will let users decide whether they want to join a group on the messaging platform or not, according to a company announcement on Wednesday. Pixabay

Enabling “My Contacts” will mean that only users they have in their address book can add them to groups and “My Contacts Except” provides additional control for who among their contacts can add them to a group.

ALSO READ: Your Tweets Can Reveal The Level The Level of Your Loneliness

“In cases, an admin who can’t add users to a group will be prompted to send a private invite through an individual chat, giving the user the choice of joining the group. The user will have three days to accept the invite before it expires,” the company said. (IANS)

Next Story

Now Google Pay Offers UPI Recharge Option For FASTag Users

FASTag is an electronic toll collection system, operated by the National Highway Authority of India

0
Google Pay
According to the company, to recharge their FASTag accounts, users need to open their Google Pay app, look for the FASTag category under the "Bill Payments" section and select the bank that has issued their FASTag. Wikimedia Commons

In a bid to help its users recharge their FASTag accounts faster, Google Pay on Monday announced that it has added a new Unified Payments Interface (UPI) feature that will let them link FASTag accounts to the Google Pay app and recharge and track their payments.

According to the company, to recharge their FASTag accounts, users need to open their Google Pay app, look for the FASTag category under the “Bill Payments” section and select the bank that has issued their FASTag.

“On the next screen, enter your vehicle number and proceed to pay with your bank account. Users can also check their FASTag account balance for FASTags issued by supported banks with the tap of a button,” the company said in a statement.

Google Pay
In a bid to help its users recharge their FASTag accounts faster, Google Pay on Monday announced that it has added a new Unified Payments Interface (UPI) feature that will let them link FASTag accounts to the Google Pay app and recharge and track their payments. Wikimedia Commons

FASTag is an electronic toll collection system, operated by the National Highway Authority of India.

ALSO READ: Hackers Can Cause Serious Attacks On E-Bikes For Eavesdropping, Says Study

It employs Radio Frequency Identification technology for making toll payments directly from the prepaid or savings account linked to it or directly toll owner. (IANS)