WhatsApp Reveals its Dark Mode Having Some Hidden Features

According to WABetaInfo, the feature will be initially available for group chats only and can be enabled by the group's administrators. Once enabled, the feature can be toggled in Contact Info or Group Settings

facebook, WhatsApp, stories, feature
Silhouettes of mobile users are seen next to logos of social media apps Signal, Whatsapp and Telegram projected on a screen in this picture illustration. VOA

Dark Mode for WhatsApp has been in the news for long and now a new beta update with the build number 2.19.353 has revealed some hidden features which will offer three options for activating the dark mode.

The light theme would offer a white background. Dark theme, as the name suggests, would enable dark mode on WhatsApp, according to WABetaInfo, a fan website that tracks WhatsApp updates.

The third option, which is ‘Set by Battery Saver’, dark mode would be activated only when the smartphone’s battery level drops below a certain point. This third option is said to be available only for smartphones running on Android 9.0 or older.

WhatsApp dark theme comes with a dark grey background and the text highlighted in white colour. Light theme is essentially a lighter version of the dark theme.

whatsapp, paytm, UPI-based Pay service
FILE – The WhatsApp app logo is seen on a smartphone in this picture illustration. VOA

Meanwhile, users will be able to choose between light and dark theme according to their preference.

Recently, WhatsApp beta version 2.19.348 for Android devices was released and it was spotted adding a self-destructing ‘Delete messages’ feature.

Also Read: US Chipmaker Intel Eyes AI on ‘Edge Computing’

Once available, the “Delete Message” feature will come with a toggle on/off button and users can choose a stipulated time — 1 hour, 1 day, 1 week, 1 month or 1 year — for the messages to automatically disappear.

According to WABetaInfo, the feature will be initially available for group chats only and can be enabled by the group’s administrators. Once enabled, the feature can be toggled in Contact Info or Group Settings. (IANS)

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here