Sunday October 20, 2019
Home Lead Story YouTube CEO A...

YouTube CEO Apologises for Overhauling Verification Policy

Verified channels currently have a checkmark next to their channel name

0
//
youtube, virtual makeup
FILE - Silhouettes are seen in front of a Youtube logo, in this picture illustration taken in Zenica, Oct. 29, 2014. VOA

Barely a day after YouTube rolled out changes to its verification programme amid a controversy over the content it pushes to its users, the company’s CEO Susan Wojcicki promised to re-evaluate the company’s recently revamped policy.

Apologising to video creators, Wojcicki posted on Twitter on Saturday: “To our creators and users – I’m sorry for the frustration and hurt that we caused with our new approach to verification. While trying to make improvements, we missed the mark. As I write this, we’re working to address your concerns and we’ll have more updates soon.”

The video-sharing platform had said that it’s overhauling its system that gave way to outrage among some of YouTube’s millions of creators, who said their verified statuses were revoked because of the new requirements.

YouTube, Google, google services
The YouTube Music app is displayed on a mobile phone in Los Angeles. VOA

On Thursday, the company said it would move away from using subscription numbers to determine verification. Instead, it’ll prioritise verifying “prominent channels that have a clear need for proof of authenticity”, according to a CNET report.

The video-sharing platform has reportedly said that the policy changes, which would go into effect in October, would move away from using subscription numbers to determine verification.

Also Read: Huawei Unveils its 5G Training Centre in UK: Report

Verified channels currently have a checkmark next to their channel name. (IANS)

Next Story

Google Launches Privacy-focused Tools in Some of its Services

In May, the company opened the new Google Safety Engineering Center where it expects the number of privacy engineers to double by the end of 2019

0
google
FILE - A woman walks past the logo for Google at the China International Import Expo in Shanghai, Nov. 5, 2018. VOA

Google has launched couple of privacy-focused tools in its services like Maps and YouTube to protect its users’ data, including new ways to use Google apps with Incognito Mode, and options to automatically delete data like your Location History, searches and other activities.

In May, Google announced that users could automatically delete Location History and Web and App Activity, which includes things they have searched and browsed.

“We’re bringing Auto-delete to YouTube History. Set the time period to keep your data — 3 months, 18 months, or until you delete it, just like Location History and Web & App Activity — and we’ll take care of the rest,” Google said in a statement on Wednesday.

“Incognito Mode” that has been one of the most popular privacy controls since it launched with Chrome in 2008 and came to YouTube earlier this year is now being rolled out in Google Maps.

“When you turn on ‘Incognito Mode’ in Maps, your Maps activity on that device, like the places you search for, won’t be saved to your Google Account and won’t be used to personalise your Maps experience,” said Eric Miraglia, Director of Product Management, Privacy and Data Protection Office at Google.

Users can turn on “Incognito Mode” by selecting it from the menu that appears when they tap profile photo, and can turn it off at any time to return to a personalised experience with restaurant recommendations, information about commute, and other features.

Incognito mode will start rolling out on Android this month, with iOS coming soon.

amazon
FILE – The Google logo is seen at a start-up campus in Paris, France, Feb. 15, 2018. VOA

The company said it is also adding new ways to understand and manage your data in Google Assistant.

“First, when you ask questions like ‘Hey Google, how do you keep my data safe?’ the Assistant will share information about how we keep your data private and secure,” the company added.

In the coming weeks, users will be able to delete Assistant activity from Google Account just by saying things like “Hey Google, delete the last thing I said to you” or “Hey Google, delete everything I said to you last week.”

Google password manager currently automatically protects passwords across different accounts.

Also Read: Microsoft Unveils its Latest Surface Devices

“We’re introducing the Password Checkup, a new feature that — with one click — tells you if any of your passwords are weak, whether you’ve reused them across multiple sites, or if we’ve discovered they’ve been compromised (for example, in a third-party data breach),” Google announced.

In May, the company opened the new Google Safety Engineering Center where it expects the number of privacy engineers to double by the end of 2019. (IANS)