Saturday October 19, 2019
Home Lead Story YouTube Worki...

YouTube Working to Overhaul its Verification Programme

Verified channels currently have a checkmark next to their channel name

0
//
youtube, virtual makeup
FILE - Silhouettes are seen in front of a Youtube logo, in this picture illustration taken in Zenica, Oct. 29, 2014. VOA

YouTube is working to overhaul its verification programme amid a controversy over the content it pushes to its users.

“When viewers come to YouTube, it’s important that they know the channel they are watching is the official presence of the creator, artist, public figure or company that it represents.

“With that in mind, we’re announcing upcoming changes to our channel verification programme starting in late October. There are two parts to the new verification programme, a new look and new eligibility requirements,” the company wrote in a blog post on Thursday.

youtube
FILE – Signage is seen inside the YouTube Space LA offices in Los Angeles, California, Oct. 21, 2015. VOA

The video sharing platform has reportedly said that the policy changes, which would go into effect in October, would move away from using subscription numbers to determine verification.

Also Read- Pakistan’s Fake Social Media Accounts Spreading Lies on Kashmir

Verified channels currently have a checkmark next to their channel name.

Through our research, we found that viewers often associated the checkmark with an endorsement of content, not identity. To reduce confusion about what being verified means, we’re introducing a new look that helps distinguish the official channel of the creator, celebrity or brand it represents, the company added. (IANS)

Next Story

Google Launches Privacy-focused Tools in Some of its Services

In May, the company opened the new Google Safety Engineering Center where it expects the number of privacy engineers to double by the end of 2019

0
google
FILE - A woman walks past the logo for Google at the China International Import Expo in Shanghai, Nov. 5, 2018. VOA

Google has launched couple of privacy-focused tools in its services like Maps and YouTube to protect its users’ data, including new ways to use Google apps with Incognito Mode, and options to automatically delete data like your Location History, searches and other activities.

In May, Google announced that users could automatically delete Location History and Web and App Activity, which includes things they have searched and browsed.

“We’re bringing Auto-delete to YouTube History. Set the time period to keep your data — 3 months, 18 months, or until you delete it, just like Location History and Web & App Activity — and we’ll take care of the rest,” Google said in a statement on Wednesday.

“Incognito Mode” that has been one of the most popular privacy controls since it launched with Chrome in 2008 and came to YouTube earlier this year is now being rolled out in Google Maps.

“When you turn on ‘Incognito Mode’ in Maps, your Maps activity on that device, like the places you search for, won’t be saved to your Google Account and won’t be used to personalise your Maps experience,” said Eric Miraglia, Director of Product Management, Privacy and Data Protection Office at Google.

Users can turn on “Incognito Mode” by selecting it from the menu that appears when they tap profile photo, and can turn it off at any time to return to a personalised experience with restaurant recommendations, information about commute, and other features.

Incognito mode will start rolling out on Android this month, with iOS coming soon.

amazon
FILE – The Google logo is seen at a start-up campus in Paris, France, Feb. 15, 2018. VOA

The company said it is also adding new ways to understand and manage your data in Google Assistant.

“First, when you ask questions like ‘Hey Google, how do you keep my data safe?’ the Assistant will share information about how we keep your data private and secure,” the company added.

In the coming weeks, users will be able to delete Assistant activity from Google Account just by saying things like “Hey Google, delete the last thing I said to you” or “Hey Google, delete everything I said to you last week.”

Google password manager currently automatically protects passwords across different accounts.

Also Read: Microsoft Unveils its Latest Surface Devices

“We’re introducing the Password Checkup, a new feature that — with one click — tells you if any of your passwords are weak, whether you’ve reused them across multiple sites, or if we’ve discovered they’ve been compromised (for example, in a third-party data breach),” Google announced.

In May, the company opened the new Google Safety Engineering Center where it expects the number of privacy engineers to double by the end of 2019. (IANS)