New York: Instagram has announced an update to its website which is likely to make it a bit more useful.
Nearly three years after it first came to the web, the company said it was rolling out a search feature on its website. You can now search for hashtags, locations, and user accounts right from your desktop, The Verge reported.
Instagram is also refining the landing pages for hashtags and locations, so that when you click a link on Instagram.com, you’ll see a page with the most popular results placed on top of recent photos.
The move comes about a month after Instagram introduced improved search and discovery features inside its mobile app, redesigning its “explore” tab to surface trending tags and places.
“Instagram.com is designed to be complementary to the mobile apps,” the company said in a blog post.
WhatsApp is reportedly working out on three new features, including linking your account to Instagram, in order to improve its chat and notifications for its over 1.5 billion users.
Apart from Linked Accounts, the two other features under development are: Vacation and Silent Mode, said WABetaInfo, a popular website that tracks WhatsApp, on Wednesday.
“WhatsApp is working right now on a new feature that allows to link your account with external services.
“The feature appears mainly developed for WhatsApp Business, but some references were found in the normal WhatsApp app too,” said the website.The Linked Accounts option will be located under your profile settings.
“Currently, the first supported external service is Instagram. Tapping Instagram, after inserting your credentials, your WhatsApp account will be correctly linked to your Instagram profile,” it added.
Currently, when you archive a chat, WhatsApp automatically unarchives it once a new message is received from that chat.
With the Vacation Mode feature, archived chats won’t be unarchived if you have previously muted them.
The option will be available in Settings and then Notifications.
“The Vacation mode is also useful if you don’t want a specific chat in your Chats List: if you mute and archive it, you will never see it again, except if you view your Archived Chats,” the report said.