Konark’s Sun Temple and seven other monuments to be featured on 10 rupee notes

Photo: Konark Sun Temple

The Reserve Bank of India has decided to feature the images of eight heritage monuments on ten rupee notes.

According to a report published in Vijayavaani, a Kannada daily, the union Finance Ministry officials have already held one round of discussions with officials from the RBI. The Finance Ministry officials have also held talks with Archeological Survey of India and asked them to submit images of the monuments.

The eight heritage monuments that have been selected are: Vijayanagara Stone Chariot in Hampi, Sun Temple in Konark, Red Fort in Delhi, Taj Mahal in Agra, Churches and Convents of Goa, Ajanta Caves, and Padmapani paintings present inside the Ajanta caves.

These heritage sites are among those sites which have been included in the UNESCO’s list of World Heritage Sites.