Bihar elections: Game begins this October 12


By NewsGram Staff Writer

New Delhi: Elections for Bihar Assembly will kick start from October 12 and continue till November 5, the Election Commission announced today.

The electoral process has been divided into five phases starting with the first on October 12. The second phase on October 16, will be followed by the third, fourth and the fifth on October 28, November 1 and November 5 respectively.


The poll count will begin on November 8.

“The model code of conduct has come into force with immediate effect. The paramilitary forces will guard all the polling stations.” Chief Election Commissioner Nasim Zaidi said here.

“Our strategy will be to manage misuse of money by voters, including paid news. Nine central and state agencies have been pressed into action to keep a check on movement of cash and liquor,” Zaidi added.
The term of the 243-member Bihar assembly comes to an end on November 29.

A total of 6.68 crore voters will decide the fate of Janta Parivar headed by Nitish Kumar and Bhartiya Janta Party, the two main rivals in Bihar politics.

(With inputs from IANS)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here