Friday February 21, 2020
Home India Election comm...

Election commission serves notice to Amit Shah, Rahul Gandhi, Lalu Prasad


New Delhi: The Election Commission on Sunday served notice to BJP president Amit Shah, Congress vice president Rahul Gandhi and Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) president Lalu Prasad for violating model code of conduct in Bihar and sought their explanations.

All the three leaders will have to provide an explanation by November 4, failing which the poll panel will take a decision on its own, it said.

“The Commission gives you an opportunity to explain your position in making the above said statement on or before 3 p.m. of November 4, failing which the ECI shall take a decision without any further reference to you,” it wrote in separate notices to each leader.

Shah was asked to explain his remark that there will be “bursting of firecrackers in Pakistan” if the National Democratic Alliance loses the election, whereas Gandhi was asked to explain his “BJP’s plan B” comment in which he allegedly said that wherever Bharatiya Janata Party goes, it makes Hindus and Muslims fight.

Lalu Prasad was served notice for his “Narbhakshi” (cannibal) comment against Amit Shah.

In addition, the EC, in a separate communication, has also cautioned Janata Dal-United president Sharad Yadav to abide by his assurance given to the poll panel and follow the provisions of the model code while delivering speeches.

On October 15, the EC had issued a show cause notice to the JD-U president for violating model code of conduct in an election meeting held in Nalanda on September 28.

In his reply, he had assured he would abide by the model code.


Next Story

Nitish set to take oath as Bihar Chief Minister


New Delhi: Nitish Kumar is set to swear-in as the Bihar Chief Minister on Friday in the presence of significant leaders of the Alliances and the Congress.

Post a storming victory in the Bihar election against Narendra Modi-led NDA government, the combined JD(U)-RJD-Congress, famous as the Grand Alliance or the Mahaghatbandhan, are estimated to share seats in the cabinet according to their respective performance.

Several leaders are expected to attend the oath ceremony, mostly from the non-BJP block, that might make way for possible future political alignments.

The ceremony will take place at Gandhi Maidan in Patna and will be joined by Congress vice-president Rahul Gandhi, HD Deve Gowda, Sharad Pawar, Farooq Abdullah and leaders in Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha such as Mallikarjun Kharge and Ghulam Nabi Azad.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi is also invited for the ceremony although he won’t be able to grace the occasion due to prior commitments. He has assigned deputed Parliamentary Affairs Minister Venkaiah Naidu to represent the Government at the gathering.

Two sunshade dais are prepared for the VVIPs and for those under Special Protection Group cover. On the main dais will be Nitish Kumar and the newly elected ministers. The neighbouring dais will be graced by the newly elected MLAs.

A special corridor is constructed for the women coming to attend the ceremony.

The site of the oath ceremony is being constantly supervised by the police, and security drills are taking place to practise ushering of VVIPs from Airport to the Gandhi Maidan.

The victory of the grand alliance was categorically endorsed under the expectation of Nitish leading Bihar as the Chief Minister.

Once rivals, Nitish and Lalu came together to defeat the BJP led NDA Government.This win has boosted the confidence of the party although now it will be under severe surveillance by the citizens to see whether they are worthy of the win or not.

Next Story