Home Indian Diaspora Gyanchand Ray...

Gyanchand Rayman to launch young adults books set in the Caribbean

0

St Lucia: Mr. Gyanchand Rayman, writer of short stories, will be launching his anthology “ENTICING SHORT STORIES” at the Castries Central Library in this Carribean island country on Tuesday, 23rd February.

The compilation of Twenty Stories covers a wide range of themes: mystery, adventure, humor, romance, tragedy, etc.

The stories are exciting, provide a literary treat and are suitable for readers sixteen years old and over. They are set in Saint Lucia, Guyana, Trinidad, Jamaica, and Barbados.

Books will be on sale at the launch and refreshments will be provided. The public is invited.

An excerpt from Gyanchand’s ‘Enticing Short Stories’ can be read below:

A fine souvenir it was. Now, on this line, from end to end was strung a rainbow of the prettiest panties he had ever seen. Heaven was on display and awesome it was! The pantimaniac went berserk and catapulted into action. He rushed madly to one end of the line and twisted the wire feverishly until it broke. He raced to the other end and snapped it and coiled the line, festooned with panties, in thick loops and garlanded himself with it. He threw his hands up in the air, and twirled and jumped and pranced, a lone carnival reveler in the spotlight of center stage, ecstatic in his bacchanalian abandon.
Without another moment’s hesitation, Ramundo charged down the hillside and hurled himself at his prey who was, by then, lost in rapture. The girls rent the air with their excited cries and plunged headlong into the melee, rolling on the ground, pawing and tugging and punching the wretched victim and shrieking obscenities unbecoming of them, as students.
The commotion startled the entire campus, and from every dormitory, girls still in their sleep-wear poured forth by the score and descended to the arena. The dozen or so curious teachers who ran from the staff quarters, together with the housemothers, shouted themselves hoarse to restore order. And when, eventually, the culprit was examined in the glare of a flashlight, everyone was shocked: the intruder was none other than their own chief security guard, Dunstan..”

(Image source: loopslu.com)

Next Story

These Books Can Drive Boredom Away in Lockdown 4.0

A well-curated list of books can help drive lockdown blues away.

0
Books
These binge-worthy books will help you sail through Lockdown 4.0. Pixabay

Life in the lockdown has not been easy for most of us. Were isolated and theres no sign of things changing anytime soon.

Well books can come to your rescue and what better way to spend the last two weeks in home-sheltering than by reading. Reading is not only a great form of escapism, but it also helps to stimulate creativity and enrich language skills, making it a great idea for all ages.

Here is a list of must read books which can transport you to another time and place:

‘The Hunger Games Series-The Ballad of Songbirds and Snakes’ by Suzanne Collins (Scholastic)

A new Hunger Games book is on its way, the first since 2010; it’s not only for teens but also for all sci-fi lovers. A prequel to the “Hunger Games” series by Suzanne Collins, “A Ballad of Songbirds and Snakes” was first announced in June last year, and – as revealed in an extract published by Entertainment Weekly – ‘will focus on Coriolanus Snow.’

‘Hunted by the Sky’ by Tanaz Bhatena (Penguin Random House India)

From the author of ‘A Girl Like That’, the YA fantasy explores identity, class inequality, alongside a high-stakes romance story, ‘Hunted by the Sky’ is set in the Kingdom of Ambar – a world inspired by medieval India– a world of deadly, dark secrets and adventures.

‘A Thousand Cranes for India: Reclaiming Plurality Amid Hatred’ edited by Pallavi Aiyar (Seagull Books)

This anthology – comprising 23 pieces of reportage, stories, poems, memoir and polemic – uses the mythology, history, and symbolism of Japanese Origami paper cranes as a pathway for some of India’s best-known writers, poets and artists to pave a “shared, civic space for a conversation about the fault lines in India at a time of darkness”.

Books
These books will make lockdown brighter for you. Pixabay

‘Shameless’ by Taslima Nasreen, translated from Bengali by Arunava Sinha (HarperCollins India)

‘Shameless’, the sequel to the controversial and best-selling ‘Lajja’, had never been published in Bengali, or any other language, until very recently, when a Hindi translation was printed. This “timely, topical and outspoken novel about communal tensions in India” is, according to its author, “not a political novel – and instead about what the politics of religion does to human beings and their relationships: a ruthless, uncompromising, heartbreaking tale of ordinary people’s lives in our times”.

Also Read: Coronavirus Pandemic: A Punishment for Humans?

‘A Burning’ by Megha Majumdar (Knopf; Penguin Random House India)

“For readers of Tommy Orange, Yaa Gyasi, and Jhumpa Lahiri” (!), Majumdar’s debut, a thriller-like epic, centres around three characters who find their lives criss-crossing in the aftermath of a catastrophe. ‘Of A Burning’, Amitav Ghosh has said: it’s “the best debut novel I have come across in a long timee In telling the story of a young Muslim girl whose life is undone by a single social media post, it creates a kaleidoscope of contemporary urban India, with its internet-driven hysteria, religious fanaticism, rampant corruption, poisoned air, random violence, enraged mobs and pervasive misogyny.”(IANS)

Next Story

Sony Sells 110 Million PlayStation 4 Units Since Launch

110 million Sony PlayStation 4 units have been sold to date

0
sony
The PlayStation 4 is now the fourth best-selling console ever. Pixabay

Japanese consumer electronics giant Sony has sold over 110 million units of PlayStation 4 since the launch of the fourth-generation gaming console. This includes all available models, including the PS4 Pro.

The company also revealed that sales of PlayStation 4 from January to March 31 this year stood at 1.5 million units.

The PlayStation 4 is now the fourth best-selling console ever, behind the Game Boy/Game Boy Color, which sold 118.69 million units.

It remains to be seen if the PlayStation 4 will overtake Nintendo’s handheld gaming device — Nintendo DS (154.02 million) and PlayStation 2 (155 million).

With the PlayStation 5 around the corner, it is now unlikely that the current 4 will break any records.

ps4
The sales of PlayStation 4 from January to March 31 this year stood at 1.5 million units. Pixabay

Sony is expected to launch its PlayStation 5 soon and unveiled the new wireless game controller for the same, calling it ‘DualSense’ to reflect its new capabilities.

Read More: Over 200 Singers Come Together for a Song Dedicated to Indian Citizens

The controller features all new colour theme and has some added functionalities, both inside and outside.

There is also an integrated microphone, a first for Sony’s controllers, along with a USB-C port and an overhauled design.

Sony says the new button will operate in the same way but will have more functions that it will reveal in the future. (IANS)

Next Story

Google Pixel 4a Might Launch by the End of May, Reports Claim

The smartphone may go on sale in Germany from May 22

0
Earns Google
April 12, 2012, Google logo on a window at the company's headquarters in Mountain View, Calif. VOA

Google Pixel 4a launch date is yet to be officially announced but a new report has claimed that the smartphone may go on sale in Germany from May 22.

Internal documents of Vodafone Germany have been accessed by German website Caschys Blog, which reveal that the Pixel 4a will go on sale in the country starting May 22, said Android Police.

The phone was earlier set to be unveiled during Google I/O 2020, the company’s annual developers conference, but the event was called off due to the coronavirus outbreak across the world.

280px-Pixel_4_back_schematic.svg
The picture shows Google Pixel 4, the prequal to Google Pixel 4a. Wikimedia Commons

However, it is unclear whether the search engine giant will be holding an online launch event for the Pixel 4a or it will be directly hit the retail stores with an unveil event.

In terms of specifications, the device is likely to pack in the Snapdragon 730 chipset, which will be backed by 6GB of RAM, and 64GB of non-expandable internal storage.

Read More: British Prime Minister Boris Johnson To Set Out a ‘Comperehensive Plan’ to Restart Economy

The device is expected to feature a 5.81-inch display is, FHD+ with 1080 by 2,340-pixel resolution at 443 ppi. It is also worth noting that the screen appears to have a 60Hz refresh rate – not 90Hz.

But unlike the Pixel 4’s dual sensor at the back, the budget 4a is likely to have a single 12MP sensor that can record 4K video, in addition to a rear fingerprint sensor, 3.5mm headphone jack, and the same USB-C port and bottom-facing speakers.

The phone has been tipped to start selling at $399. (IANS)