Restrictions imposed to disallow Muharram procession in Srinagar

Srinagar: Restrictions were imposed here on Saturday to disallow the moving of the Muharram procession, an official said.

“Restrictions have been imposed in seven police station areas of Khanyar, Rainawari, Nowhatta, M.R. Gunj, Safakadal, Lal Bazaar and Maisuma today (Saturday),” a senior police officer told IANS here.

Since the beginning of separatist violence in Jammu and Kashmir in the early 1990s, authorities have been imposing restrictions to disallow the moving of the 10th Muharram procession here.

Ashura, or the 10th of Muharram in the Islamic calendar, is observed to commemorate the martyrdom of Imam Hussain, grandson of Islam’s Prophet Mohammed.

Senior separatist leaders, Syed Ali Geelani, Mirwaiz Umer Farooq, Muhammad Yasin Malik, Shabir Shah and Muhammad Nayeem Khan were placed under house arrest here.

Police and Central Reserve Police Force (CRPF) contingents in full-riot gear are enforcing restrictions in the city.

In areas placed under restrictions, rolls of razor-fitted concertina wire have been placed on street crossings to block passage of traffic and pedestrian movement.

“No untoward incident has been reported from anywhere so far. The restrictions imposed are purely preventive in nature and these do not apply to bonafide movement of citizens,” the officer asserted.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here