Monday, August 3, 2020
Home Indian History & Culture Yogic Science: Embracing peace and happiness on the International Day of Yoga

Yogic Science: Embracing peace and happiness on the International Day of Yoga


By NewsGram Staff Writer

The goal has always been the same. The aim for the ancient seers involved not just their own benefit, but also the welfare of the neighbors, relatives and the entire mankind. Their daily routine was such that right from the morning till the evening, multifarious tasks were performed for ensuring peace, happiness and bliss of the society.

With the passage of time and change of place, a natural transformation took place and various elements were added into the yogic practice.

By practicing yoga, health benefits, concentration, calmness and bliss are spontaneously achieved.

Hence, in the midst of economic progress and development, it is essential to revive and propagate the highly exalted yet practical yogic system.

Meaning of Yoga

The exact meaning and definition of Yoga is “to become One with God”, to achieve Godhead or to become the form of God himself. This is the supreme aim for a human being.

As long as an individual does not achieve this goal, he will have to undergo the repetitive cycle of birth and death. Moreover, the desire for eternal knowledge and consciousness will remain unfulfilled.

The completion of this cycle is what is termed as Yoga. Whatever process is undertaken in order to actualize the effort to become whole, transforms into Yoga.

Karma-Yoga, Gyana-Yoga, Bhakti-Yoga, Raja-Yoga, Samkhya-Yoga among other processes are called yoga. But that activity, knowledge, devotion, mantra or asana which is not directed towards God cannot be called yoga. They are called Bhoga or selfish ego-centric work which leads to self-annihilation.

The Power of Yoga

The knowledge of God as enunciated in the Vedas by the ancient rishis or seers is considered as the perfect scripture by the people of India.

What is found in the Vedas is seen everywhere in the world around us and what is not mentioned in the Vedas cannot be found to be existing anywhere.

The person who is able to fathom the conscious-unconscious, the earth and beyond, heaven-hell, sin and piety, activity and inactivity is known as a Yogi.

Kinds of Yoga

Asana(postures), Mudra(poses), Pranayama(breathing exercises), Dhyana( meditation), Dharana(withdrawal of senses) and Samadhi( Meditative absorption) come within the threefold realm of Ashtanga-Yoga, Mantra-Yoga and Japa-Yoga.

Apart from the major Yoga disciplines, Siddha-Yoga, Japa-Yoga and Integral-Yoga are also laid forth by the Vedas.

The mystery of the yoga process has been enshrined elaborately in Patanjali’s Yoga-Sutras, Maharshi Bhardwaj’s Mimamsa-Darshan, Mantra-Yoga Samhita, Hatha-Yoga Samhita, Raja-Yoga Samhita, Maharshi Vashishta’s Yoga-Vashishta, Puranas and Tantra books.

The Science of Yoga

Description of the nine chakras( Swirling Energy Disks)

  • Mooladhara(Root Chakra): The first chakra is located at the base of the spine, between the anus and the genitals. One ascends the path of liberation by activating the base chakra which supplies nutrients. At this energy level, primary and instinctual needs of food, shelter, procreating and survival reign supreme.

  • Swadhishtan Chakra(Sacral Chakra): Located four fingers below the belly button, activation of this energy field leads to greater stability and control of the emotional upswings. A person can become attractive by channelizing energy in the chakra which relates to the genitourinary system and the adrenals.

  • Manipura Chakra(Navel Chakra): Located near the navel, Manipura corresponds to digestive and metabolic systems.  Physically, Manipura governs digestion, mentally it governs personal power, emotionally it governs expansiveness, and spiritually, all matters of growth.

  • Anahata Chakra(Heart Chakra): Symbolized by a circular flower with twelve green petals, Anahata  is related to the thymus, located in the chest. It is the site of maturation of the T cells responsible for fending off disease. Physically Anahata governs circulation, emotionally it governs unconditional love for the self and others, mentally it governs passion, and spiritually it governs devotion.

  • Vishudha Chakra(Throat Chakra): Depicted as a silver crescent within a white circle, Visuddha is understood as relating to communication and growth through expression. This chakra is parallel to the thyroid, and is responsible for growth and maturation.

  • Ajna Chakra(Third Eye Chakra): Symbolized by a lotus with two petals, Ajna is  linked to the pineal gland, a light sensitive gland that produces the hormone melatonin which regulates sleep and waking up, and is also postulated to be the production site of the psychedelic dimethyltryptamine, the only known hallucinogen endogenous to the human body.

         Ajna deals with visual consciousness, mental clarity and emotional intuitiveness.

  • Sahasrara Chakra(Crown Chakra): Considered to be the state of pure consciousness, at this point there exists neither object nor subject. When the energy rises to this point, it unites with the male Shiva energy, and a state of liberating samadhi is attained.

The Yogic knowledge is an essential and vital part of the Sanatani tradition.

As has been mentioned by a previous publication of the Yogic scripture, “The uniqueness of this work is that one finds myriad Yogic processes, those that are being followed and those that are no longer followed.”

To this day, the scripture is being published by Ma Pithambara Peetha, Sanskrit division.




Most Popular

2 US Astronauts Return Back From International Space Station

Two U.S. astronauts returned to Earth on Sunday, splashing safely into the Gulf of Mexico after a two-month mission to the International Space Station...

Making Ayodhya Railway Station A Replica of Ram Temple

When people arrive in Ayodhya in the coming months, they will get a glimpse of the grand Ram temple before they actually visit the...

10 Things People with Drug Problem Don’t Want to Hear from You

Drug addiction is a very sensitive issue that no one wants to be associated with. Most people who became addicts started it as a...

386M Databases From 18 Companies Stolen

A hacker/hacking group known as ShinyHunters flooded a hacker forum with 386 million user records stolen from 18 companies. According to BleepingComputer, ShinyHunters last week...

‘Unfixable Vulnerability’ Found in Apple’s Secure Enclave Chip puts Users’ Data at Risk

A new exploit has allegedly been found in Apple's Secure Enclave chip putting the data of iPhone, iPad, Mac users at risk. Chinese hackers from...

Amitabh Bachchan Shares Emotions After Covid Recovery, Raksha Bandhan Plans

Cine icon Amitabh Bachchan has said it is heartening to be back home from hospital after his Covid recovery. He has also revealed his...

Volcanic Eruptions Responsible for Cooling of Earth: Researchers

Analysis of sediment found in a central Texas cave in the US shows volcanic eruptions responsible for the cooling of the Earth around 13,000...

Entertainment Industry has Made us Whatever we are: Ravi Dubey

Actor Ravi Dubey says it is not easy for television actors to make it big in Bollywood. "It's not easy, because there are times certain...

Recent Comments