Tuesday, April 20, 2021
Home Indian History & Culture Indian Origin Author Vikram Seth's "A Suitable Boy" adaptation to have non-white...

Indian Origin Author Vikram Seth’s “A Suitable Boy” adaptation to have non-white cast

London, May 5, 2017: Indian-origin author Vikram Seth’s “A Suitable Boy” is being adapted as the first-period drama for BBC One. The series will have a complete non-white cast.

Published in 1993, the period coming-of-age story of “A Suitable Boy” begins in 1951 and is set in India. The eight-part series will be shot on location in India and feature the BBC’s first entirely non-white cast, reports deadline.com.

NewsGram brings to you current foreign news from all over the world.

Andrew Davies, the screenwriter whose hits include the famous 1995 version of “Pride and Prejudice” starring Colin Firth and last year’s adaptation of “War and Peace”, will be writing the series.

“Lata’s trials of the heart speak as loudly to me now as when I first read Vikram’s epic novel two decades ago. She is a great literary heroine in the tradition of Jane Austen and George Eliot.

Check out NewsGram for latest international news updates.

“But behind her stands a massive supporting cast of striking, funny, irrepressible characters and a vision of India in the 1950s that no reader can ever forget. It will make a wonderful series and I can’t wait to bring the magic of the book to life on screen,” Davies said.

Filming is set to begin later this year and it is expected to occupy the Sunday night slot reserved for popular costume dramas such as “Poldark”.

“A Suitable Boy” is a Lookout Point production for BBC One. (IANS)

STAY CONNECTED

19,517FansLike
362FollowersFollow
1,773FollowersFollow

Most Popular

More Urban Indians Suffer Payment App Frauds, Card Frauds: Report

More urban Indians are facing payment app frauds (24 percent), identity thefts (20 percent), and payment card frauds (18 percent) than ever before during...

Rapprochement Between Russia And The US?

The recent announcement by the White House sources that US President Joe Biden has proposed that he and his Russian counterpart Vladimir Putin hold...

Recognize And Seize Your Serendipitous Moments: Neil J. Farber

Archimedes' discovery of the relationship of weight, volume, and density of materials, Alexander Fleming's discovery of penicillin, Samuel Morse devising the Morse code, Alexander...

Sweat Sensor Alerts Doctors And Patients To Impending Cytokine Storm In Real Time

Scientists have developed a sweat sensor that acts as an early warning system for a looming cytokine storm -- a surge of pro-inflammatory immune...

Gender-Affirming Hormone Therapy Associated With High BP Risk

Gender-affirming hormone therapy (GAHT) was associated with blood pressure changes in both transgender men and women, according to new research. Although doctors have prescribed...

Nanking Massacre: The Holocaust

By- Khushi Bisht The Nanking Massacre, also known as the Rape of Nanking, was one of the worst massacres committed during the Sino-Japanese war that...

‘Child Of Two Worlds’ Featuring The Protagonists And Immortal Lovers

Turkey-based author Ann D'Silva has launched her new book "Child of Two Worlds", which is second in the fictional 'Sand and Sea' series, which...

Now Transfer Posts And Notes To Google Docs And WordPress Directly

Facebook on Monday introducing two new data portability types that will help users directly transfer their posts and notes to Google Documents, Blogger, and...

Recent Comments