Friday October 18, 2019
Home Lead Story WhatsApp Work...

WhatsApp Works On New Features

Thanks to this feature, you will never see the badge when you receive a message from muted chats and groups.

0
//
WhatsApp
WhatsApp on a smartphone device.

 WhatsApp is reportedly working out on three new features, including linking your account to Instagram, in order to improve its chat and notifications for its over 1.5 billion users.

Apart from Linked Accounts, the two other features under development are: Vacation and Silent Mode, said WABetaInfo, a popular website that tracks WhatsApp, on Wednesday.

“WhatsApp is working right now on a new feature that allows to link your account with external services.

“The feature appears mainly developed for WhatsApp Business, but some references were found in the normal WhatsApp app too,” said the website.The Linked Accounts option will be located under your profile settings.

Instagram, Whatsapp
WhatsApp co-founder and CEO Jan Koum speaks during a conference at the Mobile World Congress, VOA

“Currently, the first supported external service is Instagram. Tapping Instagram, after inserting your credentials, your WhatsApp account will be correctly linked to your Instagram profile,” it added.

Currently, when you archive a chat, WhatsApp automatically unarchives it once a new message is received from that chat.

With the Vacation Mode feature, archived chats won’t be unarchived if you have previously muted them.

The option will be available in Settings and then Notifications.

whatsapp
WhatsApp is also available on Reliance JioPhone. Pixabay

“The Vacation mode is also useful if you don’t want a specific chat in your Chats List: if you mute and archive it, you will never see it again, except if you view your Archived Chats,” the report said.

Also Read: Instagram Releases Tools To Combat Bullying

The silent mode feature for Android allows to hide the app badge for muted chats.

“Thanks to this feature, you will never see the badge when you receive a message from muted chats and groups. The feature is already enabled by default,” the report added. (IANS)

Next Story

Instagram to Allow Users to Have More Control Over their Personal Information

A user could restrict someone by swiping left on a comment, through the Privacy tab in Settings or directly on the profile of the account you intend to restrict

0
facebook, social media
Facebook, Messenger and Instagram apps are displayed on an iPhone, March 13, 2019, in New York. VOA

Facebook-owned Instagram on Tuesday announced a new feature which will allow users to have control over the personal information they share with third-parties through the app and it will be rolling out gradually over the next six months.

A user can navigate to Settings -> Security -> Apps and Websites to see which third-party services have access to their data.

“It is essential that we protect the data people share with us. We also want to give people more control over the data they share with other apps and services,” the company said in a statement.

Instagram will also be rolling out an “updated authorisation screen” that will notify users when a third-party app is requesting to use data.

facebook privacy
FILE – The Instagram icon is displayed on a mobile screen in Los Angeles. VOA

“To ensure you know what specific data third parties are requesting from you, we are also introducing an updated authorization screen that lists all the information the third party is requesting to access. You’ll have the option to “cancel” or “authorize” this access directly from the authorisation screen,” the company added.

Also Read: Bengaluru to be Remapped as Satellite Images Show Variations

Instagram has also rolled out a new mode called “Restrict” globally that would let users stop people who bully them via offensive posts or abusive comments.

A user could restrict someone by swiping left on a comment, through the Privacy tab in Settings or directly on the profile of the account you intend to restrict. (IANS)